Dienstag, 22. Dezember 2009

Armour

For a long time I thought that the real issue, the thing that was holding me back, was my fear of commitment. I'd meet someone and as soon I sensed some kind of mutual emotional agreement, I'd jump right in and shove my love in their face without actually doing anything. I hardly ever declared myself. Putting my feelings out there on the shit pile meant being vulnerable, a feeling I feared more than anything. I pretended to let people in but instead of the front room they ended up in a closet full of bottled up emotions. I craved attention, affection, regular phone calls. Needless to say that nobody ever lived up to my expectations. I didn't trust anyone. Not really. I didn't trust the peace either. After all, everything is going to hell anyway; the questions isn't 'if', the question is 'when'.

I still think that everything is going to go to hell sooner or later but at least I've lost the fatalistic streak. Lose the highs to spare yourself the lows. That's not really how it works.

I've recently come to realize that I am not afraid of commitment. I am able to commit alright. No, I'm afraid to get emotionally attached. I've been through hell and I try to avoid having to relive that experience. "I'm not afraid of commitment, I'm afraid of you." It took me a long time to understand what Hugh McLeod meant by it. I always thought he was referring to some crazy psycho bitch from the Upper Eastside. Well, maybe he was. Or maybe he was just afraid what it might do to him if he allowed himself to fall in love with said crazy psycho bitch. To fall in love is to hand someone your heart on a plate. If they drop it, that's it. A million little pieces.

It's probably still worth giving that vulnerability thing a try. Take off the armour, drop that guard and attach yourself to someone. We are all afraid of getting hurt. It levels the playing field considerably to think of it that way. And after all, there's not much to lose but a hell of a lot to gain.

jamie (Gast) - 2009/12/23 00:50

on the contrary

Your lines really touched me. Please allow me to give just my twopence ... if this comes to your dislike, just delete it - I'd not going to be pissed. So much for preambel.


Being vulnerable does not really go to the core. We all are able to stand the vulnerability as well as the hurt - at least for some time. Trouble is: the more experienced we get the better we know the core of vulnerability is how long it's going to last. We all try to avoid experiences from which we sense 'this has the power to put me off-track for ages'. And this is more than reasonable, if you don't wish to end up in front of a high window ...
Consequently, my advice would be: Take care of yourself first. And don't judge it as being selfish. If you put yourself into circumtances which disable you of taking care of yourself you will not be able of taking care of others anymore. Let's make it clear: Take it - by all means - slow. Take YOUR time. Best whishes. Have tons of luck!

quietplease - 2009/12/27 16:34

on the contrary, too

dislike? no ma'm. you hit the nail on the head - repeatedly. not taking care of myself? been there, done that, don't want to go there again. with tons of luck I 'll actually wake up one morning and realize that I actually learned something from past mistakes. so far it's looking good :)
jamie (Gast) - 2009/12/28 00:38

firstofall: I'm not going to be pissed. Must be somewhat idiosyncratic that I do hate my typos so much - most of the time my brain is quicker than my fingers. :)

I keep my fingers crossed for you - 'looking good up to now' sounds promising ... best wishes again!

Would you do me a favour? I'd pretty much love to meet you in person if you get geographically close to my area - I didn't do trips for ages, short of money or short of time ---
I'd really apprecciate to meet you - would you drop me a line and allow us to have a cup of coffee together? - Das würde mich wirklich sehr freuen, wann auch immer.


long stories
short stories
tiny grenades
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren